Today the EFP (European Film Promotion) announced the ten young European actors who are to be honored at the Berlinale as EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2019. Emma Drogunova from Germany has been selected as one of Europe's most outstanding young talents.

An international jury of experts, consisting in 2019 of Irish producer Macdara Kelleher, casting director Avy Kaufmann from the USA, Icelandic actor and former Shooting Star Ingvar Sigurdsson, journalist and film critic Tara Karajica, and director Teona Strugar Mitevska, elected the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2019. They were selected from candidates who had been nominated by member organisations of European Film Promotion – also including German Films.

Emma Drogunova was born in Russia and raised in Berlin. She acted on stage before winning her first TV role in the acclaimed German mini-series ADLON – A FAMILY SAGA. In 2013, she won Best Actress at the Filmfestival Cinemaiubit, Bucharest, for her role in the short NICHT DEN BODEN BERÜHREN. Drogunova debuted on the big screen in KALINKA, followed by A JAR FULL OF LIFE and the adaptation of the best-seller, THE TOBACCONIST. She had the lead role in the lauded BLIND SPOT by Stephan Lacant, which was nominated for Best Picture at the 2018 Emmy Awards.

The jury’s statement about Emma Drogunova: “With an impulsive and fiery screen personality, Emma Drogunova owns each one of her acting choices and is able to show seduction, cruelty, provocation and danger all at once in her multi-layered performances. She is an energetic, captivating, multifaceted and vibrant discovery with an impressive acting range that also conveys a wonderful warmth and love for life last seen in THE TOBACCONIST.”

Emma Drogunova: “Many, many thanks, German Films and EFP! What an honour! It is an overwhelming feeling to receive an award for your own achievement. Having your own work appreciated in this way gives you an incredible boost. I am terribly excited about getting to know the other Shooting Stars and in the process, more of the amazing variety of European Film. I look forward very much to the experiences that lie ahead of me at the Berlinale 2019 and, up until then, I will spend every spare minute in January watching films that feature my colleagues.”

Besides Emma Drogunova from Germany, the following nine actors were selected: Elliott Crosset Hove (Denmark), Rea Lest-Liik (Estonia), Kristín Thora Haraldsdóttir (Iceland), Aisling Franciosi (Ireland), Blagoj Veselinov (Macedonia), Ine Marie Wilmann (Norway), Dawid Ogrodnik (Poland), Milan Marić (Serbia) and Ardalan Esmaili (Sweden).

Former German SHOOTING STARS include Franz Rogowski, Louis Hofmann, Jella Haase, Jannis Niewöhner, Daniel Brühl, Hannah Herzsprung, Alexander Fehling, David Kross, Anna Maria Mühe and Moritz Bleibtreu.

European Film Promotion will present the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS to the international film world on the first weekend of the Berlinale. At various events and workshops, the European talents will be introduced to international casting directors, agents, directors, producers and press representatives. The ultimate highlight will be the award ceremony for the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS on stage at the Berlinale Palast on 11th February 2019.

The EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS program is supported by the EU's Creative Europe - MEDIA program as well as the participating EFP member organizations and additional cooperation partners.

German Films is a founding member of EFP (European Film Promotion), which is organizing the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS selection and presentation for the 22nd time this year.

Further information about the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS can be found here.

Contact: Christine Harrasser