EFP (European Film Promotion) has today announced the names of the 10 up-and-coming actors from Europe who will be honored as EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2018 at the Berlinale. Franz Rogowski from Germany was chosen as one of Europe's best talents.

An international jury of experts convened in Hamburg to select the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2018. They were chosen from a list of candidates who had been nominated by the member organisations of European Film Promotion, including German Films.

European Film Promotion will present EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS to the international film scene during the first weekend of the Berlinale. The European talents will be introduced to international casting directors, agents, directors, producers and members of the press at various events and workshops. The highlight to finsih off is the presentation of the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS Awards on 19 February 2018 on the stage of the Berlinale Palast.

Franz Rogowski appeared as a dancer and performer at the Thalia Theater in Hamburg and the Schaubühne in Berlin. The film director Jakob Lass recognised his acting talent and cast him in the leads for FRONTALWATTE and LOVE STEAKS. For LOVE STEAKS, Rogowski received the Best Actor prize at the prestigious German Cinema New Talent Awards during the Filmfest München. Lead roles then followed in the multiple award-winning one-shot film VICTORIA by Sebastian Schipper and in BEDBUGS by Jan Henrik Stahlberg. Rogowski has belonged to the acting company of Munich's Kammerspiele since 2015. He has also worked with Michael Haneke on HAPPY END and with Terrence Malick on his latest film project. Franz Rogowski will next be seen in lead roles in TRANSIT by Christian Petzold and IN THE AISLES by Thomas Stuber, which wil have its world premiere in the Berlinale's Competition.

The jury's comment about the German SHOOTING STAR: „Conquering our hearts and minds with his recent roles in films by Terrence Malick and Michael Haneke, Franz continuously impresses with his individuality and creativity. In the dark comedy BEDBUGS about a young man dealing with his own disillusionment, he delivers a truly authentic performance by conveying the character's complex and multilayered personality."

Franz Rogowski: „I'm looking forward to the Berlinale. Hope the weather will be fine. Thanks to the jury who have chosen me as a SHOOTING STAR. I’m so happy.“

The EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS jury for 2018 was made up of the award-winning Dutch filmmaker Mijke de Jong, producer Ankica Juric Tilic (PRODUCER ON THE MOVE 2009), casting director Nicole Schmied from Austria, the former EUROPEAN SHOOTING STAR  Eduardo Noriega and the film critic and member of the Norwegian Oscar® committee Mode Steinkjer.

The following actors were selected alongside Franz Rogowski from Germany: Matilda De Angelis (Italy), Alba August (Sweden), Michaela Coel (Great Britain), Eili Harboe (Norway), Irakli Kvirikadze (Georgia), Matteo Simoni (Belgium), Jonas Smulders (The Netherlands), Réka Tenki (Hungary) and Luna Wedler (Switzerland).

Former German SHOOTING STARS include Louis Hofmann, Jella Haase, Jannis Niewöhner, Daniel Brühl, Hannah Herzsprung, Alexander Fehling, David Kross, Anna Maria Mühe and Moritz Bleibtreu.

The EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS program is supported by the Creative Europe - MEDIA Programme of the EU as well as the participating EFP member organisations and other cooperation partners.

German Films is a founding member of EFP (European Film Promotion) which is organising the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS selection and presentation for the 21st time this year.

Further information about the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS here.

Birgit Koch (PR & Press)