Albrecht Schuch is the German Shooting Star 2021

Albrecht Schuch is the German Shooting Star 2021

EFP (European Film Promotion) today announced the ten European actors who will be honoured as EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2021. Germany will be represented by Albrecht Schuch.

An international jury of experts, consisting of American casting director Cassandra Han, Kosovar director Antoneta Kastrati and Danish producer René Ezra, selected the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS 2021 from candidates who had been nominated by  European Film Promotion's member organisations, including German Films.

Albrecht Schuch has shone in recent years thanks to his performances in such films as BERLIN ALEXANDERPLATZ and SYSTEM CRASHER as well as the internationally highly successful TV series BAD BANKS. He will be seen in April 2021 in his latest role in Dominik Graf's adaptation of Erich Kästner's novel FABIAN.

"With a wide emotional range, and outsized talent to match, Albrecht Schuch is one of Germany's most exciting rising talents. He brings a clear willingness to push himself to the limit, and beyond, always making excellent use of a formidable set of skills and artistry to bring challenging characters to the screen," the jury said of Schuch's selection as a Shooting Star.

Commenting on his award, Albrecht Schuch said, "I am delighted to be the German EFP Shooting Star for 2021 - the appreciation of one's work expressed by this honour is a nice endorsement. I'm looking forward to meeting the other Shooting Stars virtually, and hopefully in person over the course of the year, and joining these wonderful colleagues in representing the diversity of European acting talent."

The following nine actors were selected together with Albrecht Schuch: Seidi Haarla (Finland), Nicolas Maury (France), Natasa Stork (Hungary), Fionn O'Shea (Ireland), Žygimantė Elena Jakštaitė (Lithuania), Martijn Lakemeijer (The Netherlands), Sara Klimoska (North Macedonia), Alba Baptista (Portugal) and Gustav Lindh (Sweden).

Previous German SHOOTING STARS include Jonas Dassler, Emma Drogunova, Franz Rogowski, Louis Hofmann, Jella Haase, Jannis Niewöhner, Daniel Brühl, Hannah Herzsprung, David Kross and Anna Maria Mühe.

The 24th edition of EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS will take place virtually from February 23 - 25, 2021, one week before the 71st Berlinale (March 1 - 5, 2021). The three-day EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS programme will open with a special press presentation for the international press, film industry and public on February 24, and provide a unique platform for the Shooting Stars to meet international casting directors, directors and producers in one-to-one meetings and virtual hubs. The Shooting Stars Award Ceremony will take place in the framework of the Berlinale screenings in the summer.

The EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS program is supported by the Creative Europe - MEDIA program of the EU as well as by the participating EFP member organizations and other cooperation partners.

German Films is a founding member of EFP (European Film Promotion) which has been organising the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS selection process and presentation for the 24th time this year.

More information about the EUROPEAN SHOOTING STARS can be found here.

Contact: Christine Harrasser