Browse Archive

Snow On New Years Eve (Schnee in der Neujahrsnacht)

Snow On New Years Eve

"This is the 31st of December, 1999. It is exactly 12 o'clock in the old, new German capital - the city of madmen, dreamers, and lovers. My city". Zippo (Hannes Jaenicke), a lovesick radio presenter, calls on his listeners to make the last night of the century into a night of little miracles. They are to have realised their good resolutions by midnight. Ex-convict Toto (Juergen Tarrach) wants to follow the straight and narrow - and become the best bus-driver in Berlin. But two passengers are still seated in his doubledecker at the end of the line: the pregnant Russian girl Natalia (Tamara Simunovic), who's looking for the father of her child, and a dead Nigerian drug courier. Toto and Natalia discover an enormous consignment of cocaine in the dead man's suitcase. Together with his mates (André Hennicke and Niels Bruno Schmidt), Toto's fellow convict Frank (Dieter Landuris) has picked this night to plan the deal of the century where a million Marks is set to change owners.And the jealous Irishman Rory (Eric Burdon) wants to kill his wife Carola (Barbara Rudnik) in a spectacular manner before midnight. Everything about this night of little miracles has Zippo at the centre...

Thorsten Schmidt was born in 1969 and soon discovered his passion for film whilst still at school. He began working for various TV stations and production companies from 1990 and started studying at the Film Academy Baden-Wuerttemberg in Ludwigsburg in 1991. His short Waschbaer made such an impression on the cinematographer Michael Ballhaus that he made it available to a wider audience, while Schmidt's graduation film Rochade received the OSCAR for Best Foreign Student Film in 1998. Snow on New Years Eve (1999) was his feature directorial debut. Since then, he has made Ein Yeti zum Verlieben (TV, 2001) and Cuba Libre (2002).
Category Feature
Director Thorsten Schmidt
Screenplay Stefan Kolditz
Cinematography Klaus Eichhammer
Claudia Wolscht
Ralf Wienrich
Thomas Freudenthal
Cast Dieter Landuris, Hannes Jaenicke, Tamara Simunovic, Barbara Rudnik, Jürgen Tarrach, Eric Burdon
Producers Norbert Sauer, Christian Granderath
Production Company UFA Film & TV Produktion/Potsdam, in co-production with Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures Germany/Munich, ARTE, WDR, Westdeutsche Universum-Film/Cologne
Length 100 min
Format 35 mm, color
Original Version
Sound Technology Dolby Digital
Festivals Berlin 2000: German Films
With backing from German Federal Film Board, MFG Baden-Württemberg, Kuratorium Junger Deutscher Film
German Distributor Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures Germany/Munich

World Sales
UFA Film & TV Produktion GmbH
Wolf Bauer, Norbert Sauer
Dianastrasse 21
14482 Potsdam/Germany
phone +49-3 31-7 06 01 20
fax +49-3 31-7 06 01 54