Browse Archive

Map of the Heart, A (Felsen, Der)

Map of the Heart, A
Antonio Wannek, Karoline Eichhorn (photo © Bavaria Film International)

Things could hardly turn out worse for Katrin. In Corsica, her boss and lover of many years tells her that his wife is pregnant. In one abrupt instant, all hopes for a life together are dashed. Her plans for her future unraveled, her heart broken, Katrin breaks up with him. But all her attempts to start a new life simply toss her deeper into a maelstrom of aimlessness and pain.

She then happens to meet Malte, an adventure-hungry young man who lives on the edge and strictly for the moment. He overwhelms her with the honesty and clarity of his feelings - and suddenly, from one minute to the next, her life becomes a dangerous tightrope walk.

Dominik Graf was born in 1952 in Munich. After studying German and Musical Sciences, he studied at the University of Television & Film in Munich in 1974. He received the Bavarian Film Award for his graduation film DER KOSTBARE GAST (1979). He has played a decisive role in developing the profile of the TV series DER FAHNDER and has alternated regularly between film and TV productions. In 1988, he received a German Film Award for his thriller DIE KATZE (1987). His film SPIELER (1990) was shown at Venice in 1990 and he is a regular to the Berlinale where the premieres of his successful feature films A MAP OF THE HEART (2001), THE RED COCKATOO (2005), DREILEBEN – DON’T FOLLOW ME AROUND (2011) took place. His other films include: TIGER, LÖWE, PANTHER (1988), THE INVINCIBLES (1994), FRAU BU LACHT (TV, 1995), MUNICH –SECRETS OF A CITY (doc, 2000), HOTTE IM PARADIES (TV, 2002), EINE STADT WIRD ERPRESST (2006), DER WEG, DEN WIR NICHT ZUSAMMEN GEHEN (2008), IN THE FACE OF CRIME (2010) and BELOVED SISTERS (2014).
Genre Drama
Category Feature
Year of Production 2001
Director Dominik Graf
Screenplay Markus Busch, Dominik Graf
Cinematography Benedict Neuenfels
Hana Muellner
Dominik Graf, Dieter Schleip
Claus-Juergen Pfeiffer
Cast Sebastian Urzendowsky, Ralph Herforth, Antonio Wannek, Karoline Eichhorn, Peter Lohmeyer
Producer Gloria Burkert
Production Company MTM Medien & Television/Munich, in co-production with Bavaria Film, Starhaus Filmproduktion/Munich, in association with ZDF
Length 116 min
Original Version
Subtitled Version English
Sound Technology Dolby SR
Festivals Berlin 2002 (in competition), Warsaw 2002 (German Panorama), Havana 2002, St. Petersburg 2002, Umea 2002, Haifa 2002, AFI Los Angeles 2002, Ourense 2002, Fantasporto 2003, Edinburgh 2014
Awards German Film Award 2002 for Best Editing, Bavarian Film Award 2002 for Best Actress & Producer, Best Actress Award Ourense 2002, German Film Critics' Award 2003 for Best Editing & Best Film Score
With backing from German Federal Film Board, FilmFernsehFonds Bayern

World Sales
Bavaria Media International