Browse Archive



GERMANY IN AUTUMN is a collective film by German filmmakers contributing their reportage, political statements and artistic comments on the political situation in Germany after the kidnapping of the industrialist Hanns Martin Schleyer.

Alexander Kluge was born in Halberstadt in 1932. He studied Law, History and Choral Music, completing his doctorate in 1956. He trained at CCC Films (including a time with Fritz Lang) and began making shorts in 1960. Kluge was one of the initiators of the Oberhausen Manifesto in 1962. Also in 1962, he became the director of the Institute of Film in Ulm, and established his own production company Kairos Film in 1963. His other films include, among others, The Artists Under The Big Top: Perplexed (Die Artisten in der Zirkuskuppel: ratlos, 1968) - winner of a Golden Lion in Venice 1968 and the German Film Award 1969, In Danger and Dire Distress, the Middle of the Road Leads to Death (In Gefahr und groesster Not bringt der Mittelweg den Tod, 1974), The Female Patriot (Die Patriotin, 1979) and many more. Kluge is also a writer and received the Heinrich Kleist Prize in 1986 and the Lessing Prize in 1990. Since 1988, he has produced several cultural programs for television, and in 1992 received the Adolf Grimme Award in Gold for his TV-essay Das Goldene Vlies und die Catch-penny-Drucke in Blei. Alexander Kluge lives in Munich.

Edgar Reitz was born in 1932 in Morbach and earned degrees Theater and Art History. He was a member of the Oberhausen Group in 1962 and, together with filmmaker Alexander Kluge, co-founder of the Institute for Film in 1963 at the Ulm Academy of Design. A selection of his numerous and highly-acclaimed films includes: MAHLZEITEN (1966), DIE REISE NACH WIEN (1973), DIE STUNDE NULL (1976), DER SCHNEIDER VON ULM (1978), HEIMAT (1982-1984), DIE ZWEITE HEIMAT (1985-1992), DIE NACHT DER REGISSEURE (1994), HEIMAT 3 (2004), HEIMAT - FRAGMENTE (2006), and DIE ANDERE HEIMAT (2013), among others.

Beate Mainka-Jellinghaus

Volker Schlöndorff has been active for more than 50 years. A selection of his award-winning films includes: YOUNG TÖRLESS (1965), BAAL (1970), THE SUDDEN WEALTH OF THE POOR PEOPLE OF KOMBACH (1971), THE LOST HONOR OF KATHARINA BLUM (1975, co-directed with Margarethe von Trotta), FANGSCHUSS (1976), GERMANY IN AUTUMN (1976, together with Stefan Aust, Alexander Kluge, et al), THE TIN DRUM (1979), CIRCLE OF DECEIT (1981), SWANN IN LOVE (1983), DEATH OF A SALESMAN (1985), A GATHERING OF OLD MEN (1987), THE HANDMAID'S TALE (1990), VOYAGER (1990), THE OGRE (1996), PALMETTO (1998), THE LEGENDS OF RITA (1999), EIN PRODUZENT HAT SEELE ODER ER HAT KEINE (2001), TEN MINUTES OLDER: THE CELLO (2002), THE NINTH DAY (2004), STRIKE (2006), ULZHAN (2007), DAS MEER AM MORGEN (2011), DIPLOMATIE (2014), and RETURN TO MONTAUK (2017).

Alf Brustellin

Bernhard Sinkel

Rainer Werner Fassbinder was born in 1945 and died in 1982. He was one of the most significant directors of the “New German Cinema”. In just 13 years, between 1969 and 1982, he made 44 films, including Katzelmacher (1969), The Merchant of Four Seasons (Der Haendler der vier Jahreszeiten, 1971), The Bitter Tears of Petra von Kant (Die bitteren Traenen der Petra von Kant, 1972), Fear Eats the Soul (Angst essen Seele auf, 1973), Fontane Effi Briest (1974), Despair (1978), The Marriage of Maria Braun (Die Ehe der Maria Braun, 1979), Berlin Alexanderplatz (1980), Lili Marleen (1981), Lola (1981), and Querelle (1982), among others. He wrote 14 plays, revised six others and directed 25. He wrote four radio plays and 37 screenplays and worked on a further 13 scripts with other writers. Fassbinder's films are among the most valid social documents produced between the late 60s and early 80s in Germany; his plays are among the most performed of any post-war German dramatist.

Maximiliane Mainka

Peter Schubert

Hans Peter Cloos

Katja Rupé
Genre Society
Category Feature
Year of Production 1977
Directors Alexander Kluge, Edgar Reitz, Beate Mainka-Jellinghaus, Volker Schlöndorff, Alf Brustellin, Bernhard Sinkel, Rainer Werner Fassbinder, Maximiliane Mainka, Peter Schubert, Hans Peter Cloos, Katja Rupé
Screenplay Heinrich Boell, Peter Steinbach
Cinematography Joerg Schmidt Reitwein, Jürgen Jürges, Michael Ballhaus, Bodo Kessler, Dietrich Lohmann, Colin Nounier
Tanja Schmidbauer, Christian Warnck, Mulle Goetz-Dickopp, Heidi Genée
Cast Angela Winkler, Heinz Bennent, Wolf Biermann, Caroline Chaniolleau, Hildegard Friese, Michael Gahr, Vadim Glowna, Helmut Griem, Hannelore Hoger, Dieter Laser, Horst Mahler, Lisi Mangold, Walter Schmiedinger, Franziska Walser
Producers Eberhard Junkersdorf, Theo Hinz
Production Companies Kairos Film/Munich, Filmverlag der Autoren/Leipzig, Hallelujah Film/Potsdam
Length 116 min
Format 35 mm, color, b&w
Original Version
Subtitled Version English
Sound Technology Mono
Festivals Berlin 1978, Zagreb 1979, Strasbourg 1991, San Sebastian 2002 (Retrospective), Moscow 2004 (Retrospective), Pusan 2004, Istanbul 2008, Viareggio 2008, Moscow 2012, Muestra de Cine Europeo Ciudad de Segovia 2014, Kolkata 2019
German Distributor STUDIOCANAL/Berlin

World Sales
Neue Promenade 4
10178 Berlin/Germany
phone +49-30-810 969 0
fax +49-30-810 969 499