Browse Archive

Cosmonaut's Letter, The (Brief des Kosmonauten, Der)

Cosmonaut's Letter, The
Luk Piyes, Frederick Lau (photo © Kick Film)

Life itself is one of the most exciting and difficult journeys. The Cosmonaut’s Letter is the sensitive and entertaining story of Ruslan, a Russian jack-of-all-trades, and Heinrich, a 10-year-old runaway. Each of them has a dream. Heinrich wants to become a cosmonaut and does everything he can to make his wish come true. Ruslan has the equally difficult-to-realize dream of traveling to the United States with three Russian friends.

The Cosmonaut’s Letter shows that the real adventure in life lies somewhere between a newborn dream and its realization.

Vladimir Torbica was born in 1956 in Belgrade. He studied in Belgrade and Munich and gained his first experiences in film as an assistant director to Fritz Umgelter, as well as to Franz-Peter Wirth, Hans-Werner Geissendoerfer, and Cyril Frankel on numerous television and film productions. He assisted Goran Paskaljevic on the film Someone Else's America (1995), winner of the Jury Award at Cannes. He worked with Norbert Kueckelmann on Und alle haben geschwiegen (TV, 1996), with Christoph Kuehn on Jack O'Lanterns (Irrlichter, TV 1998), with Gabriel Barylli for On the Wings of Love (Wer liebt, dem wachsen Fluegel, 1999), with Douglas Wolfsperger on Heirate mir! (1999), and with Michael Karen on Flashback - A Murderous Vacation (Flashback - moerderische Ferien, 2000). Also active in documentaries, The Cosmonaut's Letter (Der Brief des Komonauten, 2001) is his feature film debut.
Genre Tragicomedy
Category Feature
Year of Production 2001
Director Vladimir Torbica
Cinematography Andreas Höfer
Peter Przygodda
Vladimir Genin
Heidi Luedi
Cast Luk Piyes, Frederick Lau, Oliver Baessler, Katja Medvedeva, Walera Kanischtscheff
Producer Markus Zimmer
Production Company Clasart Film/Munich
Length 99 min
Format 35 mm, color
Original Version
 German/some Russian
Sound Technology Dolby Digital 6-Track
Festivals Belgrade 2003
With backing from German Federal Film Board, FilmFernsehFonds Bayern